People

NameEmailAreas of expertise
Dr. S Joseph Antony
Dr. S Joseph Antonys.j.antony@leeds.ac.ukPhotonics for stress measurements and mechanics of materials; Multi-scale modelling and simulations; Particulate mechanics
Dr. Akintunde Babatunde
Dr. Akintunde Babatundea.babatunde@leeds.ac.ukSustainable water engineering and bioenergy; Wastewater treatment
Prof. John Barrett
Prof. John Barrettj.r.barrett@leeds.ac.ukSustainable consumption and production modelling; Carbon footprint of goods and services; Carbon emissions of cities; Transition to a low carbon economy / society
Prof. Muhammed Basheer
Prof. Muhammed Basheerp.a.m.basheer@leeds.ac.uk Durability of concrete and stone masonry; Non-destructive tests, structural health monitoring; Performance of materials in structures; Service life prediction; Life cycle analysis
Prof. Simon Biggs
Prof. Simon Biggseait.dean@uq.edu.auAtomic force microscopy; Inter-particle forces; Light scattering; Optical reflectometry; In-situ imaging
Dr. Leon Black
Dr. Leon Blackl.black@leeds.ac.ukCement; Concrete; Durability; Infrastructure; Materials; Embodied carbon; Lifecycle analysis
Dr. Duncan Borman
Dr. Duncan Bormand.j.borman@leeds.ac.ukComputational fluid dynamics; Environmental flows; Multiphase flow, mathematical modelling; Hydraulic modelling; Wastewater modelling; Bioreactor modelling
Dr. Paul Brockway
Dr. Paul Brockwayeepbr@leeds.ac.ukEnergy systems; Exergy analysis; Energy efficiency and rebound; Exergy economics; Low carbon energy transitions
Prof. Andrew Brown 
Prof. Andrew Brown andrew@lubs.leeds.ac.ukTheories of value and growth; Financialisation; Job quality and job satisfaction; Wellbeing, Infrastructure economics; ICT
Dr. Ian Burke
Dr. Ian Burkei.t.burke@leeds.ac.ukFundamental processes and environmental behaviour; Mobility and bioavailability of metals and radionuclides
Dr. Jonathan Busch
Dr. Jonathan Buschj.busch@leeds.ac.ukEcological economics; Industrial ecology; Low carbon infrastructure transitions; Alternative and local infrastructure business models; Complex systems and socio-technical systems modelling
Dr. Miller Alonso Camargo Valero
Dr. Miller Alonso Camargo Valerom.a.camargo-valero@leeds.ac.ukWastewater treatment systems; Recovery of resources from human and animal excreta; Wastewater and sewage sludge; Associated environmental impacts
Prof. Mark Conner
Prof. Mark Connerm.t.conner@leeds.ac.ukUnderstanding and changing health behaviours
Jo Cutter
Jo Cutterj.cutter@leeds.ac.ukHuman resource management; Organizational development; Trade unions
Dr. Leilani Darvell
Dr. Leilani DarvellL.I.Darvell@leeds.ac.ukBiomass characterisation; Thermogravimetric analysis; Biomass combustion
Dr. Mark Davis
Dr. Mark Davism.e.davis@leeds.ac.uk Relationships between money, markets and morality; Alternative finance and alternative energy systems; Models for large- and small-scale renewable energy infrastructure
Innes Deans
Innes Deansi.j.deans@leeds.ac.ukSolid waste management; Waste processing technology; Mass flow analysis; Biological wastewater treatment; Strategy development; Circular Economy; Public procurement; Project management.
Dr. Valerie Dupont
Dr. Valerie Dupontv.dupont@leeds.ac.ukGas solid catalysis; Energy analysis; Process and reactor simulation; Chemical looping technology; High purity H2 and CH4; Advanced reforming; High temperature CO2 sorption; Industrial CCS
Prof. Gary Dymski
Prof. Gary Dymskig.dymski@leeds.ac.ukPublic policy; Political economy; Money and banking, Macroeconomics; Circular economy
Prof. Barbara Evans
Prof. Barbara Evansb.e.evans@leeds.ac.uk Sanitation; water supply; Public health; International development; Political economy; International targets and monitoring; Faecal sludge management; Economics and costing
Dr. Louise Fletcher
Dr. Louise Fletcherl.a.fletcher@leeds.ac.ukMicrobiology and aerobiology; Environmental microbiology; Generation and control of pathogens in indoor and outdoor environments; Aerobiology of waste treatment and disposal ; Generation, dispersal and control of bacterial and fungal pathogens during composting
Prof. John Forth
Prof. John Forthj.p.forth@leeds.ac.ukReinforced concrete; Time-dependent movements including restraint; Serviceability; Life-span predictions of structures; Masonry; Restraint and long-term behaviour; Seismic design
Dr. Tim Foxon
Dr. Tim Foxont.j.foxon@leeds.ac.uk Business models for local low carbon infrastructure; Energy use and economic growth; Transition pathways to a low carbon economy; Complexity economics for sustainability
Dr. Carl Gilkeson
Dr. Carl Gilkesonc.a.gilkeson@leeds.ac.ukAerodynamics; Aerobiology; Aircraft design; Astrodynamics; Computational fluid dynamics (CFD); Flight mechanics; Orbital mechanics; Spaceflight; Ventilation analysis and design
Dr. John Paul Gosling
Dr. John Paul Goslingj.p.gosling @ leeds.ac.ukBayesian statistics; Design and analysis of computer experiments; Expert elicitation; Subjective probability; Toxicological risk assessment
Dr. Gary Graham
Dr. Gary Grahamg.graham@lubs.leeds.ac.ukEconomics; Business administration; Managerial economics; Information system
Dr. John Hahladakis
Dr. John Hahladakisj.hahladakis@leeds.ac.uk Remediation of soils; Sediments and wastewater from organic/inorganic contaminants; Qualitative and quantitative toxicity characterization of WEEE and plastics; Environmental studies
Dr. Nigel Horan
Dr. Nigel Horann.j.horan@leeds.ac.uk Biological treatment; Organic waste; Anaerobic digestion; Nutrient extraction; Wastewater;
Cllr. Clive Hudson
Cllr. Clive Hudsonc.hudson@leeds.ac.ukSafety management/engineering; Waste management; Process engineering systems
Dr. Eleni Iacovidou
Dr. Eleni Iacovidoue.iacovidou@leeds.ac.ukCircular economy; Industrial symbiosis; Sustainable construction; Systems analysis and evaluation; Water-Energy-Food nexus; Food waste; Marine litter; Technological innovation
Prof. Animesh Jha
Prof. Animesh Jhaa.jha@leeds.ac.uk Glass and mineral science; Fibre, bulk and waveguide glass/glass-ceramic device engineering; Rare-earth lasers and amplifiers; Pulsed laser processing; Bone and dental tissue engineering
Prof. Jenny Jones
Prof. Jenny Jonesj.m.jones@leeds.ac.ukSustainable energy from biomass; Torrefaction of biomass and other pretreatment technologies; Ash behaviour; Biomass and energy crops characterisation methods; Biomass, coal combustion models and validation; Sustainable energy with low carbon and low pollutant emissions
Dr. Amirul Khan
Dr. Amirul Khana.khan@leeds.ac.ukComputational fluid dynamics; particle dispersion in turbulent flows; Numerical optimization; Lattice boltzmann method; GPU based computing using CUDA
Dr. Marco-Felipe King
Dr. Marco-Felipe Kingm.f.king@leeds.ac.ukHospital infection control; Wind engineering; Bioaerosols
Dr. Hu Li
Dr. Hu Lifuehli@leeds.ac.ukCombustion and emissions; Real driving emissions (RDE); Biofuels and alternative fuels; Engine deposit analysis; Engine lubricant; Transport emissions; Carbon footprint; Energy audit
Jon Liddell
Jon Liddellj.d.liddell@leeds.ac.ukCircular economy; Sustainability in industry
Dr. Giorgio Locatelli
Dr. Giorgio Locatellig.locatelli@leeds.ac.ukEnergy systems sustainability; Project management in infrastructures/megaproject; System engineering management
James McKay
James McKayj.mckay@leeds.ac.ukCoordination of the Integrated PhD/MSc programmes for two EPSRC Centres for Doctoral Training (CDTs)
Prof. Alison McKay
Prof. Alison McKaya.mckay@leeds.ac.ukEngineering design; Engineering information systems; Design descriptions; Supply chain innovation; Product development systems; Requirements elicitation; Socio-technical systems applications
Krisen Moodley
Krisen Moodleyk.moodley@leeds.ac.ukInfrastructure asset management; Whole life management; Ethics; Corporate responsibility; Resilience and procurement
Prof. Frans Muller
Prof. Frans Muller f.l.muller@leeds.ac.ukFlow reactions and continuous processing; Modular equipment design; Process design, development and scale up; Kinetic modelling; Risk assessment
Dr. Mohamad Anas Nahil
Dr. Mohamad Anas Nahilm.a.nahil@leeds.ac.ukActivated carbon production from waste; Catalysts synthesis; Green-house gas absorption; Hydrogen and carbon nanotubes production from waste; Thermochemical processing of waste; Low temperature plasma technology for environmental and energy applications
Dr. Nikolaos Nikitas
Dr. Nikolaos Nikitasn.nikitas@leeds.ac.ukAerodynamics and aeroelasticity; Experimental dynamics and model analysis; Identification analysis; Mechanics of structures and materials; Earthquake engineering
Dr. Daniel O’Neill
Dr. Daniel O’Neilld.oneill@leeds.ac.ukMacroeconomics of sustainability; Environmental, social, and economic indicators; Relationships between resource use and human well-being; Green growth, steady-state economics, and degrowth; Monetary and employment policy
Dr. Alice Owen
Dr. Alice Owena.m.owen@leeds.ac.ukDiffusion and impact of domestic green technology; Circular economy; Effective knowledge exchange; Role of 'place' in sustainability
Dr. Herodotos Phylaktou
Dr. Herodotos Phylaktouh.n.phylaktou@leeds.ac.ukFire dynamics; Fire toxicity; Fire resistance; Fire protection; Fire investigation; Gas explosions; Explosion protection; Explosion investigation; Turbulent combustion; Biomass combustion
Prof Phil Purnell
Prof Phil Purnellp.purnell@leeds.ac.ukMaterials; Infrastructure systems; Resource recovery from waste; Cities; Interdisciplinary research; Durability and resilience; Autonomous systems and robots; Infrastructure economics
Dr. Katy Roelichk.e.roelich@leeds.ac.ukCentres on the governance of sustainable transitions; Transitions in energy systems and consumption; Policy and regulation constrains on sustainable transitions; Governance of sustainable transitions; Role of communities and municipalities
Dr. Andrew Ross
Dr. Andrew Rossa.b.ross@leeds.ac.ukBioenergy; Algal biotechnology; Waste management; Waste to energy; Nutrient recovery; Characterisation and analytical sciences; Thermochemical and biological processing of biomass
Dr. Andrew Sleigh
Dr. Andrew Sleighp.a.sleigh@leeds.ac.ukComputational fluid dynamics cfd; River flow; Flood modelling; Environmental risk analysis; Water management
Prof. David Spencer
Prof. David Spencerdas@lubs.leeds.ac.ukPolitical economy; Theoretical and empirical analyses of the quality of work; Conceptualisation of work; History of economic thought
Dr. Julia Steinberger
Dr. Julia SteinbergerJ.K.Steinberger@leeds.ac.ukEnergy and materials; Greenhouse gas emissions; Economic activity and human wellbeing;
Prof. Ed Stentiford
Prof. Ed Stentiforde.i.stentiford@leeds.ac.ukWaste management; Water engineering; Sustainable development
Prof. Doug Stewart
Prof. Doug Stewartd.i.stewart@leeds.ac.ukGeo-environmental engineering; Metal and radionuclide contaminated groundwater; Alkaline waste sites; Redox sensitive metals
Prof. Martin Tillotson
Prof. Martin Tillotsonm.r.tillotson@leeds.ac.ukWater management; Virtual water; Water & wastewater treatment; Water & wastewater sludge processing; Resource recovery; Water industry regulation; Water industry innovation
Dr. Mark Trigg
Dr. Mark Triggm.trigg@leeds.ac.ukWater related risk; Hydrodynamics; Hydrology; Rivers; Flood plains; Global; Flood hazard; Modelling; Remote sensing
Dr. Konstantinos Daniel Tsavdaridis
Dr. Konstantinos Daniel Tsavdaridisk.tsavdaridis@leeds.ac.ukSteel; Steel-concrete composite; Aluminium; Structures; Earthquake engineering; Sustainable design; Digital design & construction; High-rise buildings; Vibrations; Structural optimization; Guidelines
Dr. Anne Velenturf
Dr. Anne VelenturfA.Velenturf@leeds.ac.ukIndustrial symbiosis; Biowaste-to-resource innovation; Social network analysis; Participatory governance; Participation process management; Transdisciplinary science; Agro-ecology
Dr. Costas Velis
Dr. Costas Velisc.velis@leeds.ac.ukSolid waste management; Environmental engineering; Circular economy; Recycling; Informal/ inclusive recycling; Solid recovered fuel (SRF); Marine litter; Mechanical processing; Material flow analysis; Assessment methodologies
Dr. Hinrich Voss
Dr. Hinrich Vosshv@lubs.leeds.ac.ukInternational business strategies; Multinational enterprises (MNEs); Developed and developing countries; China; Future energies; Internationalisation of mainland Chinese companies
Dr. Zia Wadud
Dr. Zia Wadudz.wadud@leeds.ac.ukTransport; Energy and environmental interaction; Impact of vehicle automation; Energy and travel demand; Econometric modeling; Innovative energy policies; Transport and energy in developing countries
Prof. Paul Williams
Prof. Paul Williamsp.t.williams@leeds.ac.ukWaste and biomass Pyrolysis; Waste incineration
Prof. Chee Yew Wong
Prof. Chee Yew Wongc.y.wong@leeds.ac.ukDrivers, antecedents, and contingencies affecting sustainable supply chain management and firm’s sustainable performance; Contingencies and configurations of supply chain integration and coordination; Enablers and mechanisms to achieve supply chain integration and alignment; The competitive advantage of third-party logistics service providers; Global/ethical sourcing and global supply chain operations management; Reverse and sustainable logistics solutions
Prof. William Young
Prof. William Youngc.w.young@leeds.ac.ukConsumer behaviour and sustainability; Retailers, suppliers and consumer organisation; Theoretical frameworks and applied tools; Change consumer behaviour in purchasing and using products.; Frameworks, tools use, indicators in environmental impacts
Dr. Guy Ziv
Dr. Guy Zivg.ziv@leeds.ac.ukEcosystem modeling; Social sciences; Impacts of policy and climate change on the water-food-energy systems;